NAVSUP FLC Jacksonville Officer Lauded as 2016 Fuels Officer of the Year

Aug. 25, 2017 | By kgabel
BY BARBARA BURCH, OFFICE OF CORPORATE COMMUNICATIONS NAVSUP FLEET LOGISTICS CENTER JACKSONVILLE Rear Adm. Jonathan Yuen, commander, NAVSUP, announced the winners of the 2016 Excellence in Naval Fuel Management Recognition Program April 6. NAVSUP Fleet Logistics Center (FLC) Jacksonville Regional Fuels Officer Lt. Cmdr. Joshua Melchert was recognized as the Navy’s top fuel officer. [caption id="attachment_6838" align="aligncenter" width="500"]
VIRIN: 170825-N-ZZ219-6838
Capt. Ed Bogdanowicz, NAVSUP Energy director, presents the Navy’s 2016 Fuel Officer of the Year award to LCDR Joshua Melchert, NAVSUP F LC Jacksonville Regional Fuels Officer April 11. Photo by Kelli Thorpe.   Melchert provides operational and administrative oversight for 17 individual fuel operations, including fuels level inventory management, maintenance and construction oversight for fuels facilities and assurance to policy and regulatory adherence. Operating out of Defense Fuel Supply Point (DFSP) Jacksonville fuel depot, Melchert directly oversees operations at the Navy’s largest deep water fuel terminal in the southeastern United States and the accompanying site at DFSP Mayport. NAVSUP Energy Office Director Navy Capt. Ed Bogdanowicz presented the excellence in Naval Fuel Management Recognition Program for the Navy and Marine Corps awardees. “I’m honored to find myself included in such distinguished company,” said Melchert upon receiving the award. “Thanks for the support and recognition and congratulations to all the NAVSUP Energy team for their involvement in this worldwide conference.” The 2017 Department of Defense Fuels Awards ceremony took place April 11. July/August 2017