NAVSUP Fleet Logistics Center Jacksonville Receives Stan Arthur Award

Jan. 29, 2019 | By kgabel
By Carol Williams, Office of Corporate Communications, NAVSUP Fleet Logistics Center Jacksonville Rear Adm. Jack Moreau, director, Fleet Ordnance and Supply/Fleet Supply Officer, N41, U.S. Fleet Forces Command, presented NAVSUP Enterprise Logistics Response Team (ELRT) with the Adm. Stan Arthur Award for Logistics Excellence: Logistics Team of the Year during a ceremony in Jacksonville, Florida, Oct. 31. The Adm. Stan Arthur Award highlights military and civilian logisticians who epitomize excellence in logistics planning and execution. The award recognizes individuals and teams who have enhanced combat capability of operating forces; advanced technology, products, services and/or processes; resolved major logistics issues; developed innovative logistics that merit adoption for standard use; and had a positive effect on Joint operations. The ELRT is a quick-response team composed of active duty and Reserve Sailors who are qualified for critical skillsets in logistics functions, including postal operations, material handling, contracting/purchasing, fuels operations and hazardous material management. The team can deploy in a matter of hours in support of a contingency or emergency response operation anywhere in the world. NAVSUP Fleet Logistics Center (FLC) Jacksonville activated the first operational employment of the ELRT in response to the 2017 hurricane season. The ELRT was deployed to the Southeastern United States and Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, in the aftermath of Hurricanes Irma and Maria, who made landfall in late 2017 as Category 5 storms. Both natural disasters resulted in loss of life, as well as widespread devastation in the region. [caption id="attachment_8657" align="aligncenter" width="620"]
Photo By: Carol M. Williams
VIRIN: 190129-N-ZZ219-8657
Master Chief Petty Officer Eric Smith, command master chief of NAVSUP FLC Jacksonville; Capt. Matt Ott, commanding officer of NAVSUP FLC Jacksonville; Rear Adm. Jack Moreau, director, Fleet Ordnance and Supply/Fleet Supply Officer, N41, U.S. Fleet Forces Command; Kevin Mooney, executive director of NAVSUP FLC Jacksonville; Robert Brunson, deputy operations officer of NAVSUP FLC Jacksonville; Cmdr. Dave Glover, executive officer of NAVSUP FLC Jacksonville pose after Rear Adm. Jack Moreau awards NAVSUP FLC Jacksonville the Meritorious Unit Commendation for exceptional performance during the 2017 hurricane season. –photo by Carol Williams   Capt. Matt Ott, NAVSUP FLC Jacksonville commanding officer said, “The ELRT is a rapidresponse team of professionals that can deploy quickly to assist with essential supply support operations as commanders begin to recover from a disaster. After the storm hits, it’s critical to develop supply coordination so that they have the tools and people in place to begin response operations immediately.” Once on the ground, the ELRT provided logistical support to military entities, federal, state and local agencies and non-governmental organizations to support military installation recovery and provide defense support to civil authorities’ missions. Moreau presented the award at a ceremony at NAVSUP FLC Jacksonville, where he touted the team’s collaboration and expediency when responding to a crisis situation. “This is a tremendous accomplishment – a true team effort, and I thank each of you for your effort to make a difference in the wake of the destruction wrought by these storms,” said Moreau. The ELRT team includes Capt. Matthew Ott, commander, NAVSUP FLC Jacksonville; Capt. Stuart Day; Lt. Cmdr. Alejandra Holch; Lt. Jessica Chamberlain; Robert Brunson; Edwin Baldoria; Lt. Cmdr. Jason Morgan; Lt. Cmdr. Charles McCandless; LSCS Kristian Fabian; LSCS Juan Alvergue; LSCS Genedine Cabrera; LSCS Marvin Foster; Lt. John Waurio; LS1 James Wade; LS1 Geronimo Jimenez; LS1 Deandra Valdes; LS1 Nikko Casten; LS1 Marina Johnson; LS1 Gerardo Chan; LS1 Sebastine Agbo; LS1 Steven Morones; LS1 Ramon Monge; LS2 Christopher Edmondson; LS2 Darien Bonner; LS2 Steven Zybert; LS2 Melissa Wilcoxon; LS2 Christopher Grijalva; LS2 Joseph Clugston; LS2 Regina Leuty; LS3 Adam Icard; LSSN Jeannette Rangel. Winter 2019