Stanley R. Arthur Awards for Logistics Excellence

July 26, 2013 | By scnewsltr
     Deputy Chief of Naval Operations for Fleet Readiness and Logistics presented the 2012 Adm. Stanley R. Arthur Awards for Logistics Excellence to Department of the Navy personnel at the Pentagon, July 11.      Vice Adm. Phil Cullom presented the awards from the Pentagon via video teleconference for the first time in an effort to save money during a period of sequestration, enabling awardees from commands around the globe to be present without travel costs. [caption id="attachment_1236" align="alignleft" width="300"]
VIRIN: 130726-N-ZZ219-1236
On July 11 in Philadelphia, NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (NAVSUP WSS) Commander, Rear Adm. John King, SC, USN, (center) presents (from left) Maj. Garrett Randel, Steve Van Note, John Dockins, and Frank McGoldrick with 2012 Adm. Stan Arthur Award certificates for their work on the joint Naval Air Systems Command (NAVAIR) V-22 Logistics Team. The team was recognized as the Operational Logistics Team of the Year. (Photo by Jim Morrow)      "It is great that we are still able to recognize our outstanding performers across the globe, while saving money, through a virtual award ceremony,” Vice Adm. Cullom said.  “The ceremony itself is in keeping with the innovative judicious warrior spirit at the heart of the Admiral Stan Arthur Award.”      Retired Adm. Stanley R. Arthur, former Vice Chief of Naval Operations, attended the ceremony and personally congratulated the awardees.      "Each year, as these awards are presented, I marvel at the ingenuity and focus that the Navy's Logisticians bring to the table,” he explained.  “This year is no exception.  Improving the collection of data and assembling more meaningful metrics, cost avoidance, reutilization and rehabilitating used equipment/facilities and improving mission capable rates, this year's awardees have raised the bar to a new level.  It is my honor to be associated with these extraordinary logisticians.”      Established in 1997 and presented annually, the awards identify individuals as well as teams who demonstrate professionalism and excellence in the area of logistics.      Cmdr. William May, from Defense Logistics Agency, was named the 2012 Military Logistician of the Year at the ceremony.      Gregory Butler, from Naval Supply Systems Command, was named the 2012 Civilian Logistician of the Year.      The V-22 Logistics team at Naval Air Systems Command, Naval Air Station Patuxent River, Md., received the 2012 Operational Logistics Team of the Year award.      USS Ponce (AFSB(I) 15) team, assigned to Military Sealift Command, received the 2012 Joint Logistics Team of the Year award.      Navy Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) Financial Information Team, from Program Executive Office Enterprise Information Systems, received the 2012 Acquisition Logistics Team of the Year award. By MCSN Jules Stobaugh, Defense Media Activity