NAVSUP FLC Norfolk, Bath Division is Presented AEGIS Awards

Dec. 1, 2017 | By kgabel
BY TOM KREIDEL OFFICE OF CORPORATE COMMUNICATIONS NAVSUP FLEET LOGISTICS CENTER NORFOLK NAVSUP Fleet Logistics Center (FLC) Norfolk, Bath Division Configuration/Outfitting and Commissioning Supply Service (CSS) teams were each awarded an AEGIS Destroyer Excellence Award in a May 24 ceremony in Bath, Maine. [caption id="attachment_7178" align="aligncenter" width="525"]
VIRIN: 171201-N-ZZ219-7178
CSS team members Lt. John Cusimano and LSCM Chad Deitrick received an AEGIS Excellence Award.   According to NAVSUP FLC Norfolk Bath Division Director James Mitchell, this award program is run by Program Executive Office Ships and recognizes AEGIS destroyer-related accomplishments and provides awards in the categories of individual and team in direct support of acquisition efforts including research, development and new construction, along with in-service efforts such as overhaul and maintenance. “I’m extremely proud of both of these teams,” said Mitchell. “My configuration/outfitting and CSS teams are folks who truly place the needs of the warfighter first.” Both teams were commended for their work with the future guided-missile destroyers USS Rafael Peralta (DDG 115) and USS Thomas Hudner (DDG 116). The configuration/outfitting team worked with builder and contractor support to oversee configuration changes that accounted for 700 contractor-furnished and more than 29 thousand government-furnished line item changes, while monitoring the procurement of more than 45 thousand requisitions valued at more than $16 million. The CSS team was responsible for the successful turnover and loadout of more than 20 thousand allowances valued at more than $22 million. Their efforts contributed to Rafael Peralta scoring high on their light-off assessment, which assesses a ship’s ability to get underway. [caption id="attachment_7179" align="aligncenter" width="525"]
VIRIN: 171201-N-ZZ219-7179
Code 500 Configuration & Outfitting team members Justin Duncan, Richard Hooper, Fred Richards, Rory Fike, Susan Dickson, Craig Cooley, Tracy Bickford, Matthew Pullen, and Richard Bane received an AEGIS Excellence Award.   “Our team of Sailors, civilians and contractors embrace NAVSUP’s ‘Ready. Resourceful. Responsive!’ ethos,” Mitchell explained. Mitchell added that NAVSUP FLC Norfolk Bath Division works as part of a partnership between NAVSUP and Naval Sea Systems Command that, “... basically allows the warfighter to be the warfighter, and leaves logistics to be handled by the logisticians.” Rafael Peralta is scheduled to join the fleet later this year and Thomas Hudner is scheduled for commissioning next year. September/October 2017