Admiral Stan Arthur Award Winners

Nov. 28, 2017 | By kgabel
Deputy Chief of Naval Operations for Fleet Readiness and Logistics Vice Adm. Dixon R. Smith recently announced the winners of the 2016 Admiral Stan Arthur Awards, which highlight military and civilian logisticians who epitomize excellence in logistics planning and execution. Major Darren Gallagher, NAVSUP Global Logistics Support (GLS), has been named 2016 Military Logistician of the Year. The Logistics Team of the Year is the Naval Supply Systems Command’s Logistics Cell (LOGCELL) Team. [caption id="attachment_7062" align="aligncenter" width="500"]
VIRIN: 171128-N-ZZ219-7062
2016 Logistics Team of the Year – the NAVSUP LOGCELL Team – pictured with Vice Adm. Dixon Smith (far left), Rear Adm. Jonathan Yuen (far right), Rear Adm. Duke Heinz (second from right).

Military Logistician of the Year

While serving as Director of the Crisis Response Cell, NAVSUP GLS AMMO, Gallagher revolutionized ordnance logistics support to the 5th Fleet Area of Responsibility (AOR). Gallagher’s unparalleled drive and his incomparable ability to think outside of the box resulted in the establishment of a new air channel to resupply critical warfighter ordnance requirements into forward deployed airbases. This new channel is now used as the preferred transportation route for other classes of supply moving across the Department of Defense into this AOR. This effort included streamlining the diplomatic clearance process, evaluating of staging areas, analyzing the capability to provide explosive arcs for protecting military and civilian personnel, and the establishing of new ground transportation routes. Gallagher’s far-reaching logistics insight and knowledge, as well as his deep comprehension and recognition of potential complications, were critical in the planning and execution phases for the implementation of AEGIS Ashore. His innovative thinking and determination to overcome any barriers have saved untold man-hours, as well as significantly reduced costs, while enhancing U.S. Navy readiness. [caption id="attachment_7064" align="alignleft" width="300"]
VIRIN: 171128-N-ZZ219-7064
Vice Adm. Smith presents Maj. Gallagher with the 2016 Military Logistician of the Year Award.

Logistics Team of the Year

The P-8A Poseidon is a commercial derivative aircraft designed to secure the Navy’s future in long-range maritime patrol capability. Responding to the unique challenges of the P-8A Poseidon supply support concept, the LOGCELL Team quickly created and capitalized on the synergies of an empowered, cross-functional team to expeditiously remove barriers, eliminate bureaucratic layers, and facilitate empowered decision making. LOGCELL leveraged cutting edge technology, combined operational and sustainment feeds, and formed a reaction logistics support model. The fusion of multiple data sources into a single repository produced timely and actionable information that offered the team a holistic view of the supply chain, providing capability to quickly identify inefficiencies in order to rapidly address programmatic risks, challenges, and emerging issues. LOGCELL injected high velocity learning across the Naval Aviation Enterprise, as well as industry partners, ensuring alignment of goals, metrics, and outcomes with the singular focus on improving operational readiness. The team made note-worthy improvements in P-8A readiness and achieved a 25 percent reduction of backorders for repairable parts, a 57 percent reduction of backorders for consumable parts, and a 62 percent reduction in the average number of backorders per fielded aircraft. Additionally, the team’s prompt actions avoided retail outfitting costs in excess of $114 million. At the outset of fiscal year 2016, the P-8A Poseidon reached Material Support Date, transferring management of supply support from Naval Air Systems Command to NAVSUP. Concurrently, program strategies migrated from contractor logistics support to a traditional organic support concept. Team members include: Capt. Matthew Ott, Lt. Cmdr. Andrew Henwood, Robert Gordon, James Carson, Paul Hartman, Meredith Buck, and Tracy Miller. September/October 2017